Give them the hope — a thought after watching “Scent of a Women”

Lately by accident I found a link to watch online “Scent of a woman”, the best of all Al Pacino’s movies in my humble opinion.

While deeply impressed by the well-told story, the excellently presented characters of the roles, and the top-ranking performance of Pacino(Lt. Colonel Frank Slade)’s and the other’s, I found one line of Colonel Frank Slade’s had stunned me the most profoundly. And that is what he said in his defense for his care-giver Charlie Simms, a student at an exclusive and renown prep school.

“There is no prosthetic for the spirit”!

How true the statement is! What else can be more precious than our spirits to treasure and more delicate to protect?  Have we ever heard a broken heart been completed mended and seen a lost soul totally restored by themselves? Not that I know of! 

But (I hate to use “but” here) a statement, no matter how brilliant and revealing, is only a statement. It offers not a solution, nor even a hope for anyone with broken heart and shattered spirit!

The sad fact is that in this same world there are millions with spiritual deformity! 

What is the hope for the spiritually limped? Where lays the path to a soul salvation and spirit restoration? How can these people “walk” on to live the best out of their lives? Is there a second chance for them?

The Bible says, in Psalm 23:

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refresh my soul. He guides me along the right paths.

This entry was posted in Blogroll. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

